Filmmakers and composers from the Twin Cities and beyond were paired up to collaborate on these short films. Filmmakers had two months to make something under five minutes on the theme "legend." Composers then had a month to write a score for the Composer Quest Orchestra.

MNKINO50: Legend

Oanh Vu, Robert Masen, and Charlie McCarron (Minneapolis, MN)

Charlie McCarron (Minneapolis, MN)

Filmmakers Composer

The Day Truffaut Died

John Akre (Minneapolis, MN) Andy Stermer (Minneapolis, MN)

Hidden Beach: Hiding in Plain Sight

Dell Johnson (Eden Prairie, MN) Grayson Howard (Anoka, MN)

Observation

Lauren Flynn and Andy Delany (Minneapolis, MN)

Michael Maiorana (Minneapolis, MN)

When Tyrants Were Vanguished

Christian Finch (Rosemount, MN) | Brian Neurauter (New Brighton, MN)

Armagosa

Larry Wydra (Plymouth, MN) Dan Wheeler (Tampa, FL)

Legend of Hai Bà Trưng

Oanh Vu, Leyen Trang, and Jonathan Koh (New York, NY) Joshua Dyrud (MN)

Wendigosis

Jack Norton (Minneapolis, MN) Beret Ouren (St. Peter, MN)

Legend of the Red Pants

Brian Gaeta (Chicago, IL) David Boban (Highland, IN)

La Loba

Devi Hobot (St. Paul, MN) | Mike Manor (Roseville, MN)

INTERMISSION

Safari

Harold Buskirk (Kalamazoo, MI) | Mary Beth Huttlin (Minneapolis, MN)

June Bug

Ann Thompson (Stillwater, MN) | Charlie McCarron (Minneapolis, MN)

Legends

John Gwinn (Minneapolis, MN) Thor Bremer (Chicago, IL)

When Will You Cry for Me

Aida Al-Kadi (St. Louis Park, MN) | Kue Xiong (St. Paul, MN)

The Legend of Cyril

Beth Peloff (Minneapolis, MN) | Patrick Fata (Indianapolis, IN)

Selfie

Aaron Rosenblum and Sami Pfeffer (MN) | Michael Betz (Minneapolis, MN)

The Impawsible Dream

David Koesters (Portland, OR) | Nick Devlin (Portland, OR)

Rise

Benji Inniger (North Mankato, MN) Benji Inniger, Jeremiah Kuehn, Leah Kurth, and Olivia Lee (MN)

Join us for an after-party at Wild Tymes, with free appetizers! 33 W 7th Pl, St. Paul, MN 55101

Thanks to our sponsors!





The Composer Quest Orchestra

Conducted by Yuri Ivan

Flute Bethany Gonella

Oboe Julie Brusen

Clarinet Mary Beth Huttlin

Saxophone Kurt Hattenberger

Bassoon Maia Hamann

French Horn Teresa Herbert

Trumpet Gerard Ahlgren

Trombone Nick Syman

Tuba Eric Ebeling

Percussion Mike Manor

Drums Jed Anderson

Guitar Dylan McFarling

Piano Franco Holder

Violin Lydia Lui

Viola Ann Bur

Cello Danielle Swenson

Bass Matt Ides

Grant support from:





This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Metropolitan Regional Arts Council, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.









Presented by

MNKINO





July 28th, 2016

Science Museum of Minnesota